march, 2020

31mar1:00 am1:00 amFish Poetry PrizeInternational Entry Fee: €14 Max word count: 300 Top Prize: €1,000 and publication

Event Details

The Fish Poetry Prize was established in 2006. Previous judges include Billy Collins, Brian Turner, Leanne O’Sullivan, Michael McCarthy, Peter Fallon, Matthew Sweeney, Paul Durcan, Ruth Padel, Nick Laird and Jo Shapcott.

This year’s judge, poet Billy Collins, will be selecting the 10 poems to be published in the 2020 Fish Anthology.

The Fish Anthology 2020 will be launched during the West Cork Literary Festival  (July 2020).

You can read poems published in previous Fish Anthologies.

Anam Cara will host the second prize winner for a week-long retreat, at the writer’s convenience.

Critique Service is for poets who require an appraisal of their work prior to entering a writing contest, or at any time.

Billy Collins is the author of twelve collections of poetry, including The Rain in Portugal, Aimless Love, Horoscopes for the Dead, Ballistics, The Trouble with Poetry, Nine Horses, Sailing Alone Around the Room, Questions About Angels, The Art of Drowning, and Picnic, Lightning. He is also the editor of Poetry 180: A Turning Back to Poetry, 180 More: Extraordinary Poems for Every Day, and Bright Wings: An Illustrated Anthology of Poems About Birds. A Distinguished Professor of English at Lehman College of the City University of New York and Senior Distinguished Fellow at the Winter Park Institute of Rollins College, he was Poet Laureate of the United States from 2001 to 2003 and New York State Poet from 2004 to 2006. In 2016 he was inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Letters.

Back to Top