may, 2019

15may1:00 am1:00 amJames Laughlin AwardInternational Entry Fee: Free
Max word count: Full manuscript, 100 pages
Top Prize: $5,000

Event Details

Offered since 1954, the James Laughlin Award is given to recognize and support a second book of poetry forthcoming in the next calendar year. The award was endowed in 1995 by a gift to the Academy from the Drue Heinz Trust. It is named for the poet and publisher James Laughlin (1914-1997), who founded New Directions in 1936.

The winner receives a prize of $5,000, an all-expenses-paid weeklong residency at The Betsy Hotel in Miami Beach, Florida, and distribution of the winning book to approximately one thousand Academy of American Poets members.

Submissions are accepted January 1 through May 15 each year. The judges for the 2019 James Laughlin Award are Gillian Conoley, Fady Joudah and Cole Swensen. Postmark deadline: May 15.

Back to Top