may, 2019

15may1:00 am1:00 amLenore Marshall Poetry PrizeInternational Entry Fee: $75
Max word count: Full manuscript
Top Prize: $25,000

Event Details

Established in 1975, this $25,000 award recognizes the most outstanding book of poetry published in the United States in the previous calendar year. The prize includes an all-expenses-paid ten-day residency at Glen Hollow in Naples, New York, and distribution of the winning book to hundreds of Academy of American Poets members.

The Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize honors the memory of Lenore Marshall (1897-1971), a poet, novelist, essayist, and political activist. She was the author of three novels, three books of poetry, a collection of short stories, and selections from her notebooks. Her work appeared in such distinguished literary magazines as The New Yorker, The Saturday Review, and Partisan Review. In 1956 she helped found the National Committee for a Sane Nuclear Policy, the citizens’ organization that lobbied successfully for passage of the 1963 partial nuclear test ban treaty. In 1994, the Academy was selected by the New Hope Foundation to administer the award.

Submissions are accepted January 1 through May 15 each year. The judges for the 2019 Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize are Major JacksonPatricia Smith, and David Wojahn. Postmark deadline: May 15.

Back to Top