june, 2019

30jun1:00 am1:00 amThe Moth International Short Story PrizeInternational Entry Fee: €12
Max word count: 5,000
Top Prize: €3,000

Event Details

The Moth Short Story Prize is an important date on the literary calendar. Every year, a single judge is asked to choose three winning stories, to feature in the autumn issue of The Moth.

Previous judges include Martina Evans, John Boyne, Donal Ryan, Belinda McKeon, Mike McCormack and Kevin Barry.

Previous winners include Marc Phillips, Nikki McWatters, June Caldwell and Caoilinn Hughes.

This year’s judge is Kit de Waal.
De Waal worked for fifteen years in criminal and family law, was a magistrate for several years and sits on adoption panels. Her writing has received numerous awards, including the Bridport Flash Fiction Prize 2014 and 2015, the SI Leeds Literary Reader’s Choice Prize 2014 and the Kerry Group Irish Novel of the Year. Her debut novel My Name is Leon was published in 2016.

1st prize €3,000
2nd prize week-long writing retreat at Circle of Misse in France plus €250 travel stipend
3rd prize €1,000

Back to Top